Project Description

mg+ Wachsende Stadt

Mönchengladbach takes confident strides into the future. With the urban development strategy mg+ Wachsende Stadt the administrative bodies and the municipal associations have defined a clear corporate objective: qualitative growth for Mönchengladbach. And the city always focuses on its residents: The aim is to improve housing and living conditions and to strengthen the city as a business location. Climate protection, social stability, education and demographic resilience are decisive factors in achieving qualitative growth for Mönchengladbach. The strategy gradually comes to life as new projects are added.

Master plan 3.0

The foundation stone was laid by the master plan of the British star architect Sir Nicholas Grimshaw. Under his lead, residents and entrepreneurs developed an urban development vision for their city which in 2016 culminated in the mg+ Wachsende Stadt urban development strategy. Grimshaw focused on the city’s two centres – Gladbach and Rheydt – and on its unique location in the middle of the green region of the Lower Rhine with its excellent connections to the national transport hubs.

The mg+ Wachsende Stadt urban development strategy now goes one step further. It creates the framework conditions for implementing the master plan step by step. All stakeholders that are part of the Konzern Stadt scheme work hand in hand. There is also demand for investors and project developers who help shape Mönchengladbach and give the city a new face that’s diverse, lively and likeable

Karte MG+ wachsende Stadt
back

Project Description

mg+ Wachsende Stadt

Mönchengladbach macht sich selbstbewusst auf den Weg in die Zukunft. Mit der Stadtentwicklungsstrategie mg+ Wachsende Stadt haben Verwaltung und die städtischen Gesellschaften ein klares Unternehmensziel definiert: qualitatives Wachstum für Mönchengladbach. Dabei hat die Stadt immer den Bürger im Blick: Es geht um die Verbesserung der Wohn- und Lebensverhältnisse und die Stärkung des Wirtschaftsstandortes. Klimaschutz, soziale Stabilität, Bildung und Demografiefestigkeit sind entscheidende Faktoren, um qualitatives Wachstum für Mönchengladbach zu erreichen. Die Strategie wird nach und nach mit Projekten mit Leben gefüllt.

Masterplan 3.0

Den Grundstein legte der Masterplan des britischen Stararchitekten Sir Nicholas Grimshaw. Unter seiner Federführung haben Bürgerschaft und Unternehmer eine städtebauliche Vision für ihre Stadt entwickelt, die 2016 in die Stadtentwicklungsstrategie mg+ Wachsende Stadt mündete. Grimshaw lenkte den Blick auf die beiden Zentren der Stadt – Gladbach und Rheydt – sowie auf die einzigartige Lage der Metropole – mitten in der grünen Region des Niederrheins und dabei bestens angeschlossen an überregionale Verkehrsknotenpunkte.

Die Stadtentwicklungsstrategie mg+ Wachsende Stadt geht nun einen Schritt weiter. Sie schafft die Rahmenbedingungen, um den Masterplan Schritt für Schritt umzusetzen. Dabei arbeiten alle Akteure im Konzern Stadt Hand in Hand. Gefragt sind zudem Investoren und Projektentwickler, die Mönchengladbach mitgestalten und der Stadt ein neues Gesicht geben: vielfältig, lebendig, liebenswert.

Karte MG+ wachsende Stadt
zurück